Join the NRA Here and Save!

2021-22 NM Hunting Rules

Project Childsafe from the NSSF

NMSSA Legislative Update: February 17th

New Mexico Shooting Sports Association - NRA Sanction Organization

At today’s meeting of the Senate Health and Public Affairs Committee, SB224, the proposed “firearm storage” bill was rolled back until Friday. The bill would be more aptly named the “Burglar Protection Act” as it could make it harder to access your firearms in an emergency situation. The bill would also criminalize teaching your child how to shoot or hunt with a firearm unless they were 12 or older and had previously completed a formal class. You can sign up here to submit comment to the committee, or you can contact members of he committee individually listed below.

Senator Gerald Ortiz y Pino – (D)  (505) 397-8839 jortizyp@msn.com

Senator Bill Tallman – (D) (505) 397-8854 bill.tallman@nmlegis.gov

Senator Gregg Schmedes – (R) (505) 986-4395gregg.schmedes@nmlegis.gov

Senator David M. Gallegos – (R) (505) 986-4278 david.rsi@hotmail.com

Senator Stuart Ingle – (R)  (505) 986-4702 stuart.ingle@nmlegis.gov

Senator Brenda G. McKenna – (D)  (505) 397-8834 brenda.mckenna@nmlegis.gov

Senator Antoinette Sedillo Lopez – (D) (505) 397-8847 a.sedillolopez@nmlegis.gov

Senator Elizabeth “Liz” Stefanics – (D) (505) 397-8851 lstefanics@msn.com

HB279, which would exempt gun stores and firearm training instructors from future emergency health orders, will be heard in the House Consumer and Public Affairs Committee on Tuesday February 23rd. You can testify before the committee by going to their page here and clicking on “Please click this link for public comment for HCPAC” before the meeting starts at 1:30pm. Below is the contact info for members of that committee.

Liz Thompson (D) liz.thomson@nmlegis.gov (505) 986-4425

Andrea Romero (D) andrea@andrearomero.com (email listed on the legislature’s website) (505) 986-4243

Brittney Barreras (D)  BRITTNEYFORNEWMEXICO@GMAIL.COM (email listed on the legislature’s website) (505) 986-4248

Stefani Lord (R) stefani.lord@nmlegis.gov (505) 986-4453

Randall Pettigrew (R) randall.pettigrew@nmlegis.gov (505) 986-4467

I recently sat down with Paul Gessing of the Rio Grande Foundation on their podcast to talk about the 2021 legislative session. You can check out my interview here for a more in-depth conversation on the bills we are facing this year.

Zac Fort

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>